Rocket League ranks: How the competitive ranking system works

If you are new to the competitive Rocket League, understanding the Rocket League standings can be difficult. Rocket League standings and how they work are important if you want to show off your flying skills in flying vehicles. But not all competing ranks are the same. Rocket League ranks range from Supersonic Legend to Bronze.
Competitive playlists and Rocket League rankings
You can view Rocket League’s competitive playlists by clicking Play, followed by Competitive:
3v3 standard
2v2 double
1v1 solo duel
Each competitive game mode has its own rating. As a competitive player, you must play ten placement games before you can place yourself in your assigned ranking.

Rocket League measures your skill level by placing games and then facing players with similar abilities. Each playlist asks you to play ten games for 30 until you have three different Rocket League rankings.

These three playlists form the basis of the Rocket League’s ranking system. The most common game modes you’ll find for professional gamers and content creators are 1v1, 2v2, and 3v3.
These competitive Rocket League playlists are different from the usual game playlists; if you go out early in a competitive match without losing, you will be punished and the bots will not replace the players who abort a match.

Rocket League extra mode playlists and ratings

Remember the other ways we mentioned above? These aren’t competitive game modes, but you can still rank between them after playing ten games each:

  • hoops 2v2
    3v3 drop shot
    Snow day 3v3
    3v3 roar

Although not competitive, these modes still require a lot of practice. Especially in Dropshot and Hoops, aerial duels are important, so they enforce the ranks so that players with minimal skill don’t fall on every ball of the more advanced players eaglecliffpartners .

List of Rocket League competitive rankings

There are three levels within each range, except Supersonic Legend:

not classified
Grand Champion
Supersonic legends

So here are all the Rocket League standings:

  • not classified
    Brass I
    Brass II
    Brass III
    Silver I
    Silver II
    Silver III
    gold i
    Gold II
    Gold III
    Platinum I
    Platinum II
    Platinum III
    Diamond I
    Diamond II
    Diamond III
    Champion I
    Champion II
    Champion III
    Grand Champion I
    Grand Champion II
    Grand Champion III
    Supersonic legends

Within each level there are four divisions:

division I
Division II
Division III
Division IV
Once you get to Supersonic Legend, the game will no longer use the level rating system.

The relatively new Supersonic Legend ranking of Rocket League leaderboards is one of the most welcome changes since its introduction. Psyonix has added the Supersonic Legend rank to the Rocket League while the game is free, and there will be unique players.
Grand Champion rank is satisfying as each player has developed their skills and the addition of a new level has given them something to strive for truly talented players.

Rocket League MMR Tracker

Unfortunately, the Rocket League does not show your MMR (match rank). When you reach the Grand Champion, you will see your MMR.

Rocket League trackers are third-party tools that allow you to use more stats than you find in the game, helping you discover your MMR before reaching the Grand Champion. MMR is not affected by individual actions such as goals and aid; success counts.

MMR determines your confrontation with opponents, not necessarily your rank in the game, although both are closely related.

So if you win a match against someone with a higher MMR than you, you will receive more points than if you win against someone with a lower MMR. If you beat someone with a higher rank, you will lose fewer points than the lower one.